Many people spend a large amount of money on celebrating birthdays and weddings. Others think that it is unnecessary to spend so much on these events. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Whether people should spend huge sums of money on hosting birthdays and wedding ceremonies is a topic of debate. Many believe it is a waste of funds to expend large amounts on these events. In my opinion, important milestones in ones life should not be celebrated with a lot of money because it can be used to sort out other pressing issues. This essay will also discuss the other view in more details. Spending lavishly on events is relevant, according to some people. Perhaps, the reason is that celebrations, such as birthdays and weddings leave beautiful memories. Participants would most likely remember an event that was exquisite with expensive drinks and food. High profile events usually make it to popular news blogs which serve for good exposure to the celebrants. Many also squander money on weddings to showoff or to maintain an already presumed societal status. One of the most memorable birthdays of the century was hosted by Sheikh Mamoud son who invited guest celebrities from all over the globe. He even rented a whole island simply for this purpose. The broader detriment of over-spending on parties is invaluable, if not more, important. This is simply due to the unforeseen circumstances that an individual may find himself or herself later in life. All there is to partying are eating and drinking, and the money spent is gone. In an instance where a health challenge comes up, some may find themselves seeking financial help. Minimizing our spending on parties is, therefore, necessary, since there is no positive outcome from it. People should instead make donations to charities or save up for bills, such as housing maintenance and taxes that can render them broke if the money is not available as at when due. To sum up, it is true that spending high amounts on parties is not necessary. The reason is that this money can use utilized to good use during emergency situations.