some parents buy and allow their children anything they ask or want. is this a good way to raise children? what consequences could this style of parenting have on children as they grow older

Today, some parents have decided to adopt permissive parenting with their children. This pattern of parenting does not impose ample discipline, the parents tend to be very loving, yet provide little guidelines and rules. However, this approach is not a good way to raise children because it tends to have negative effects on them. This essay will discuss why I feel parents should not give in to their children's every whim. While it is understandable that parents want to give their children all they need and ask for, this is not a suitable method of parenting. For instance, giving children excessive freedom to do whatever they want without listening to instructions from their parents or adult figures around them does not help them to develop into responsible adults because children need rules. Furthermore, when children get everything, they want such as, toys they end up thinking they can have anything they want without hassles and this has an exceptional impact on their development. Therefore, if parents insist on this permissive approach of parenting, their children will grow up differently from children trained by stricter parents. As a result, these children will most likely become bossy, selfish, materialistic, quick to throw tantrums, and intolerant. They would not know the value of effort and if they are faced with challenges in the future, they become too frustrated and can do nothing about it. These children also do not feel the responsibility to earn anything for themselves because they never had to. In conclusion, although it is enticing to give children whatever they want, parents should set rules and be cautious about how they reward children. Learning to say no to children is more beneficial and the children will thank you in the future.