Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Quality of dressing in work place is a topic of significant interest in organizations ranging from a small business value to many multi-national companies. There has been several behavioural research studies conducted based on the same conceptual idea to evaluate the influence of dressing in workplace. The results had proven to be biased upon various contributory factors interconnected in a complex social and inter-personal network. Personally speaking, I have worked in both type of environments. The industrial environment where I did my internship was a very formal work place with employees dressed in coats, suits and formal dresses based on regional preferences. And the IT work place where I used to learn as a part of my Bachelor's degree was completely contrasting to the previous situation, here the people did not have any requirements of dress code nor did they have any significant format of style to be followed. One of the important observations I noted was the difference of opinions from multiple view-points, in the sense, the people working in the IT company had no issue with casual clothing and relaxed attire of their respective co-workers whereas the employees of the industry were very keen on following dress code and they expected their friends also to follow the same. The reason I believe for this difference is the influence of varying factors including top management's decision, co-worker's mindset and cultural preferences. However, there was a common observation point adding value to the previously mentioned reason, the efficiency of workers corresponding to the respective organizations was top notch in both the cases. Hence, it can be effectively concluded that quality of dressing is subjective based on the setting of the work environment fixed by the top management whether formal or informal. And the workers trained in the particular environment will get accustomed to the same and thus get efficient with the same format. 5%.