Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

In today's corporates world, dress codes are assigned or smart dressing is at least expected during job hours in some organizations. This type of thinking started prevailing in 2000's but, earlier this wasn't the same case. Earlier demand-supply of employees was less in comparison to today's time thus, even if the person wasn't well dressed or skilled was considered. Dressing sense has changed every decade thus, employers expectation of dress code has also changed like earlier any shirt pant combination use to work but, employers expect more of a formal dress code like as of my internship, my dress code was white shirt with black pant and formal accessories. There is a saying, "First Impression is last impression", this hold true for most of the cases. For e. g. If an employee is well dressed it gives good first impression, shows that he is serious about his tasks and depicts values like loyalty, confidence, faith, hospitality, etc. If a employee comes in shorts and t-shirts gives sign that he is not serious about his work. Good dressing sense also gives an idea of his psychology and creativity. Thus, for making organization's clients believe in employees, dress code can bring a beneficial effects. In my opinion, If one looks in to a bigger picture dressing shouldn't be a barrier. Dressing code may give a better look and impression but, if person doesn't know about his/her work then it's not worth it. For e. g. in our field of computer science if a person is well dressed then it doesn't guarantee that he/she will be valuable or will be more knowledgeable than others thus, quality of work matters there. A hard working person is anytime better than a good dressed person from organization's growth point of view. In my conclusion, I would give an opinion that a person with better quality of work would be way beneficial for an organization in comparison to a person with smart dressing. Because at the end of the day, One can buy clothes, but knowledge can't be bought.