Some languages are increasingly spoke in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is a controversial issue about the diversity of languages. Some linguists say that the wide spread use of one language along with the decline of others is beneficial for the world, while some teachers state that this phenomenon is detrimental. In this essay, I will consider both points of views and agree with the idea that it brings more negative effects. Let us start with reasons why some linguists advocate that the widespread usage of some language at the expense of others is advantageous. The first reason is that people understand each other better. Many languages cause misunderstanding, for example, in business, but the help of global languages, people would comprehend one another with no linguistic obstacles, while they are holding international meetings. Another reason is that one countries can apply the education system of developed nations easily. Since children would speak, read and write in only several popular language worldwide, authorities can copy the methods of teaching with no need to translate and modify the original version from more prosperous countries. Therefore, it is more pragmatic to speak only a few language than to encounter misapprehension, while speaking in many languages. However, some teachers argue that the popularity of one language over others in speaking is disadvantageous to the world. They justify their viewpoints with the following arguments. Firstly, it usually leads to the extinction of cultures. Nations tend to stop upholding their traditions and customs, if they replace their mother tongue with foreign languages, since it is an irreplaceable cultural element. Secondly, three world would become a dull place for tourists. The tourist industry is the based on regional differences, but when people start to speak the same language as tourists, they will lose interests in travelling, which would have a detrimental effect on tourist destinations, because this industry would generate less income. As a result, the world would be a dreary place with only few languages as well as cultures. In conclusion, even though some linguists believe that using a few languages rather than many would have a positive impact on the world, I think that officials should not let it happen for the above mentioned reasons.