Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead.

Nowadays, there has commonly been a huge amount of debate regarding this matter, a certain segment of society assumes that governments are wasting their money to organize sporting tournaments while some individuals think contrary. I fully agree that the general folk’s needs are more vital than sporting events. This essay will elucidate my views considering this trend as an adverse advancement for the community. Firstly, to train an elite athlete, authorities hire world-class fitness trainers as well as coaches, moreover, they build various expensive playgrounds and luxury building for the players. To cite an instance, a survey was conducted was by the Discovery channel states that the U. S. A spent 50 million dollars in the last Olympic games to provide special training for their players. In addition to that, another 10 million also spent to reward players who won medals. This wealth could be used for feeding poor persons or building shelters for the homeless crowd, and there are a plethora of individuals in the nation who are unable to feed their tummy. Secondly, sometimes these sporting events can cause tension between the two countries due to the fact that everyone desire’s that their country’s team should be the winner of the game. To illustrate that, when there is a cricket match India vs Pakistan then the situation between these two nations gets very dangerous. Furthermore, residents of these nations start posting bad content on social media which clearly make the situation worse. Same story we can see when the FIFA football cup starts. To conclude, in my perspective, spend a country’s assets on few players is not a wise thing because our priority should be to reduce the poverty but this trend swift the rate of poverty in undeveloped nations.