In contemporary settings, more and more people have formed the habit of eating fast food frequently / at regular intervals, and under this circumstances, some people believe that this will exert adverse influence on individuals’ health.

In contemporary settings, more and more people have formed the habit of eating fast food frequently / at regular intervals, and under this circumstances, some people believe that this will exert adverse influence on individuals’ health. I partly agree with them, since I believe that maintaining such dietary habits will generate both positive and negative influence on individuals’ lifestyle and diets in equal measure. On the one hand, being on a diet of fast food enables individuals to live a relatively easier and convenient lifestyle. This is mainly because most citizens are confronted with increasingly serious competition in the workplace and as a result, for the sake of maintaining / protecting their job security, most of them have to resort to working overtime. Subsisting on eating in fast food restaurants matches such daily routines better, since this can extricate them from the trouble of cooking at home and thus help them save time. On the other hand, maintaining such dietary habits generates more health problems. To be more specific, it is generally acknowledged that fast food is excessively rich in sugar and fat which takes a toll on individuals’ health, and this has been proven by the fact that more and more people with such eating habits are suffering from some diseases such as high blood pressure or obesity. Also, to increase the shelf life of these foods, some additives are added to them, but the chemicals contained in these additives cause fatal illnesses such as heart attack and cancer in people. Conversely, most home-cooked food is made from fresh fruits and vegetables, and its ingredients are controlled at a reasonable level. This ensures that they are rich in vitamins and minerals, which are very beneficial to people’ health. In conclusion, while eating fast food suits the hectic lifestyle of people, this dietary habit also leads to some health problems.