Some film companies spend millions of dollars on the production of a single movie. Is it necessary to spend a lot of money to make a good movie? What factors contribute to the success of a movie?

Nowadays, cinema and films are one of the main entertainments all around the world with film studios investing massive amounts to production of movies. However, very often these multi-million projects do not meet expectations of producers by failing to attract the anticipated attention and as a result, the multi-million investments can not be recovered. Triumph of a certain movie is dependent on a number of factors as described below. There are countless examples, where huge funds, usually spent on involvement of expensive movie stars, design of special effects and advertising, did not necessarily lead to high earnings in cinema cashboxes. Subject cases prove that while making final investment decisions, film companies need to take into account many other things as well. In the first place, the storyline of movie needs to be carefully developed in order to keep the viewers interested all the time. Solid script is like backbone of the movie and the films will not score higher on other points and overall, if the story is poorly drafted. Secondly, the team shall focus efforts on getting the best cast for movies needs, which are not necessarily big names costing big amounts. The stars are born every day and new talents, who are much hungrier for success and much eager to make their path through the hall of fame, will show their best performance, as they may not get second chance. These talents need to be continuously revealed. The last, but not least, is strong advertising planned well in advance which very easily can be done via social media without spending big budget. Of course, the target auditory of the movie will always define the advertising channels. To summarize, the success of a movie is not always correlated with its budget and in contrast, there are many opposite examples in history of filmography. Although, the big funds always create more opportunities and contributes to overall triumph, without accounting for other factors, as explained above, the expectations of producers may not be realized.