Opinions are divided as to whether adolescents should spend their leisure time on helping the local community without payments or not.

Opinions are divided as to whether adolescents should spend their leisure time on helping the local community without payments or not. Some hold a belief that it merits not only individually but also socially. Personally, I completely disagree with this point of view. For a variety of reasons, it would be wrong to force young students to do unpaid works for the local in their school break. Firstly, teenagers are at the age of learning and they have to meet quite a lot of deadlines for homework. If they take time out to do unrelated jobs, there will not be time left for their study and some other activities for the comprehensive development, such as doing extra - curriculum activities, playing sport and so forth. Therefore, occupying their little free time is obviously not proper and unfair. Secondly, teenagers may not be physically strong enough and lack the necessary labor skills. This may easily lead to unwanted accidents at workplaces. Finally, the local residents are able to ask for help from diverse resources even without any effort rather than taking advantage of the young, and it may yield a much better result. In my opinion, adolescents who help their community as a workforce do not benefit from what they do and they even will be the low-quality employees in the future society. In fact, learning is the most effective way of generating a well-educated workforce for the contemporary economy and educating good citizens for a healthy society. Case in point, in numerous parts of Vietnam, the young aged around 15 to 20 are considering making ends meet top priority, and this situation is originating the fact that they are not qualified and skillful enough as requirements of most enterprises. As a result, their applications were denied because of lacking a sense of discipline and labor skills. In conclusion, the choice of whether helping the local or not belongs to teenagers, but I believe that we should not require them to do works which are others' responsibility.