Some feel that animal testing is cruel while others feel it is necessity. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion

Testing of medicines and cosmetics on animals has been prevalent for a very long time. The animals are tortured and deprived of their natural habitats in order to test these products. While some believe it is cruel to test medicines on them others argue that it is the only way in order to save mankind from ever-increasing diseases and viruses. It's important to analyse the two opinions in order to come to a conclusion. There are people and NGO's who feel that testing medicines on animals not only deprives them of their natural habitat but also puts them in life-threatening situation. For instance, to test certain specific medicines certain species are made to go through various emotions. These animals are over-worked and also at times cut off food so as to test them in extreme conditions. In case an animal can't take the adverse environment created during these medical tests and tend to lose control, it can also be killed. Life should be valued irrespective of it belongs to an animal or a human. Thus animal testing should be totally avoided. On the contrary, certain people feel that these animal tests are a necessity. It's a long process to come up with new life-saving medicine and in order to expedite the process, animal testing is important. Certain members of the medical fraternity feel that most of these clinical trials are safe and are part of a later stage of testing. In the absence of these tests, saving human life from new and unknown diseases becomes difficult. Hence in order to protect humanity from life-threatening diseases, controlled animal testing is important. In my opinion, looking at the adversities caused by these tests on animals, animal testing should be banned. During the various stages of these testing, the animals go through various induced emotions which tortures them. Also, other testing alternatives such as "In vitro testing" where human cells and tissues are modelled, should be explored.