Nowadays, lots of household waste is a problem. What is the cause of this problem and how can we solve the issue?

Today we live in an era where so much rubbish from home causes a lot of trouble. The amount of litter is rising because of several reasons. This essay will deal with the causes of the increasing amount of waste and how it affects the environment and suggest some way to overcome it. The most serious impact of this situation is on the environment. People consumptively shop for various kinds of goods that may not be environmentally friendly, and then disposed of in the landfill and cause soil and water pollution. Mixing food waste or kitchen scraps with non-organic objects can also cause gases that are harmful to the environment. Moreover, destroying used plastics and Styrofoam are becoming a major problem everywhere especially in Indonesia because these things are difficult to destroy. The first reason for the rising amount of rubbish is the high consumptive nature of today's society. People are given many choices in life that encourage them to buy new things. Secondly, not everyone consciously sorts out the waste generated from their homes. Some of them still mix all kinds of garbage in one place. In addition, sometimes an unstructured waste management system causes all the collected waste to end up piling up in a landfill. The third reason is that many goods manufacturers still use too much packaging such as single-use plastic to wrap their products, resulting in a lot of waste. Currently, cooperation from several parties is needed to overcome the bad effects of waste. People have to be aware of the disastrous consequences of consumerism. Besides that, they also need to learn to be responsible for sorting their own waste. People should buy only what is necessary. As far as possible, excessive packaging should be avoided. Furthermore, the government should encourage some industries to use an alternative way to package their products. To sum up, public awareness in choosing, buying, and being responsible for sorting waste is the key to protecting the environment. Besides, regulations and supervision from the government regarding the packaging of goods are also important to overcome the environment problem.