Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Language is a crucial concept worldwide, able to represent a particular country, culture, and traditions. In fact, as humans, we learn to communicate at a quite early age and, usually, we refer to the native language of our parents. Moreover, some experts think that it’s better for children to begin acquiring a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. For this reason, this essay will lay out how the advantages of this argument outweigh the disadvantages. First of all, as infants learn to speak at a very early age and develop fluency, later on in their lives they benefit from it in any profession they might want to follow. One of these advantages is polylingualism fluency, which refers to the ability to know in-depth more than one language, as one would be native and the other would be foreign. For instance, if a young individual having Foreign parents, but attending an English pre-school, he/she would have the opportunity to learn both. In contrast, logically, there aren’t as many cons for learning languages at an early age, but balance is the key to living a healthy life. Accordingly, mastering multiple languages can be overwhelming for a toddler, as it can affect negatively their general world comprehension. To exemplify, if a toddler is acquiring to speak German from their parents, but learning in English in school, that can make it harder to understand and respond when asked questions, later leading to learning disorders like dyslexia. To finalize, there are definitely more advantages than disadvantages in learning a foreign language at an early age, as the disadvantages can occur in exaggerated situations. In fact, many parents feel pride that their child is expanding their linguistic talent, however, they should not overload their child at an early age, as it can be harmful mentally for both.