Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages ?

Nowadays most managers finds it necessary to reach out to their staffs on phone all the time, even while on vacations. The drawbacks of this trend outweighs the benefits. This essay will further elaborate on this stated view point. On one hand, organizations set out task on a daily, weekly or monthly bases and as such employees are required to work extra shifts even on days they’re off duty. Nevertheless, in this era of technology some of this companies has stepped up by giving their workers mobile phones or registered SIM cards in which they can be contacted at all times. more also this can also serve as a means of communicating with their colleagues outside work hours in other to relay urgent information concerning the establishment. However, this strategy has brings in positive outcomes for example: my company gave out registered SIM cards with free airtime to all permanent staffs and this has been effective in communicating the daily work schedule to junior colleagues and also some workers on leave. On the other hand, one of the demerits of this is interfering in the personal life’s of the employee and mental breakdown. Although not everyone loves to receive calls from work after their closing hour or when they’re off shift. So many people pass through the heavy traffic of the city and struggles to get home late just to spend quality time with their families. Receiving a distress call from a boss or colleague is rather frustrating as this would get a torn on ones mental health. In addition, some individuals don’t even get to see their children before rushing out the house in other to beat traffic, so the only time they can spare with their loved ones is when they’re on vacation, off shift or even after work. Despite the positive side, this new evolution is rather detrimental to one’s mental health and privacy. For instance a survey done on workers in 2001 shows that 70% of the population have mental disorders as a result of work overload and stress from workplace. In conclusion, most Companies like to stay in touch with their works, while this is a good profitable to firms the sets backs leads the employees to mental distress and deprived them spending time with their families.