Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money.

It Is true that in a number of companies some employees are being encouraged with additional money by employers for their industrious work. However, some people believe that such practice can be either useful or can spoil such employees. This essay will discuss whether it is effective or not and also provide possible solutions. On the one hand, extra reward may be used to make an employee work even harder and better. Moreover, that employee may motivate other colleagues and be as a role model for them, in addition there will be a competition among members for the most valuable worker. Consequently, it may lead to an increased level of overall productivity of workers. On the other side of the coin, additional reward may create misunderstanding among employees and impair their relations. For instance, some workers may think that they have equal productivity compared to a person who got bonus money. In addition, in one company women realized that their salaries and rewards are not the same as men’s ones, as a result, they sued that company. In order to avoid such problems, employers may create perfect reward system, firstly, they may make a competition between members and organize group rewards. Furthermore, extra money can be replaced by other rewards such as trip tickets and holidays. Summing up, rewards are important to support workers for their efforts, but they can lead to different misunderstandings among the colleagues, thus to prevent them workplace must be fair for everyone and exclude any biased attitude to achieve maximum of the performance.