Some countries have free health services. However, some people feel that those who live unhealthy lifestyles should not receive free healthcare. with this view?

Health is basic human need, thus several countries offers free healthcare system. However, there are a several people are opposed to such system and claims that those who live unhealthy should be responsible for their own health. This essay will argue that free health care is beneficial to society. As an increase of diseases related to unhealthy lifestyle emerge, there are those who believe that free healthcare would encourage more people to live unhealthy and irresponsibly, and ultimately, this would result to burden the government and taxpayers. Most who agree with this opinion, argue that the government should not be responsible for everyone’s health, especially those who do not work, instead liability should be with the individual, to illustrate, those who work receive health insurance as one of the benefits from the company. This concerns are valid, however the increasing value of private health insurance and medicine indicates health is now luxury only few can afford. In countries without free healthcare, cost of medical fees and medicine has increased significantly, Additionally, health coverage benefits are only offered by big companies, which results to low income individual being at the disadvantage, thus, this discourages people to consult a physician even with symptoms of illness, which leads to more complications or fatality, as an example, a person suffering from early signs of stroke such as severe headache would prefer to self-medicate instead of a medical consult, resulting to a more serious consequence. Research shows that countries with free medical services has higher life expectancy rates, furthermore, record shows that individuals who suffer from chronic illness are able to work like normal healthy person by means of subsidized medication maintenance, hence they are able to pay their taxes and contribute to society. If medical help is accessible to everyone, the overall public welfare will improve. In conclusion, free healthcare gives everyone an equal opportunity to be healthy regardless of their lifestyle and socio-economic status, which befits the general public in the long run.