Some corporations believe that the quality of multitasking is not needed in employment. However, reputation of multitasking quality is gaining in the world.

Multitasking: is it a boon or a bane? Though the term multitasking has become much more prevalent in last twenty years, it is actually not an entirely new sensation. Corporations across the world focus only on the bottom line so as to maximize shareholder wealth. They therefore expect from an employee to do multiple jobs at one go, and make him stretch his ability. I believe that it is absolutely unwarranted. There is a widespread assumption about employees' multitasking skill that it is useful for corporations. It is a kind of a snake oil symposium. At face value, it looks a boon, but the analysis and facts show otherwise. Multitasking causes loss of productivity, switching between cognitive tasks costs time and money both. Furthermore, inattention causes more mistakes, anxiety; prevents a critical innovation. The human brain, unlike computers, takes around twenty five minutes to return to the original task where it was left off. This results into Continuous Partial Attention (CPA) which can be termed as an illness. Ergo, it nowhere serves the purpose for corporations. There are apparent benefits associated with multitasking, whether it is perceived or real. Firstly, it helps the doer feel a sense of accomplishing more in a shorter pace, At the same point, the employee becomes more marketable compared to his peers. Secondly, employees feel confident in writing this attainment on their resumes, too. They, unarguably, believe that no stage is wasted away, and it also helps them kill boredom. Headhunters capitalize on such employees' so called quality and misconception, and up their expectations for them to complete many jobs in a day. This habit of some corporations becomes a crutch forever. Invariably. Both corporations and employees believe that multitasking is a boon. In my final analysis, the demerits associated with multitasking greatly outweigh its merits. On the other hand, mono-tasking is a more established and proven method of working.