Some Businesses Find That Their Employees Lack Basic Interpersonal Skills

Nowadays, In most of the fields employees work as a team, and in many businesses freshers are lacking in basic interpersonal skills, resulting in their inability to work as a team player. This essay will discuss the reasons behind it and then present some suggestions to alleviate these potential problems. There are several reasons behind new joinee's lack of ability to work with their peers. Firstly, technical skills and experties are given more priority and soft skills are getting ignored when it comes to hire new people. For example, many of the compnies hiring new talents use methods such as writing and apptitude tests, and interview are also around technical abilities, neglecting interpersonal skills. Another reason is education today weigh more on teachnical and theoritical education. Group activities and team projects are not given much importance in schools and colleges. So, there are no such activities during their education that helps them to improve their soft skills as well. Companies can adopt certain policies to hire new graduates or they can train those individuals and help them to improve such qualities. There many other methods for hiring which can test their both technical and soft skills. In the hiring procedures, activities such as group dicussions and varied interviews can be introduced to examine both side of the interviewee. On the other hand, companies can spend some time to teach about corporate life and working in a team. To cite an example, big oranizations which can afford some expenditure could create a coursework for new joiners and help them grow in soft skills. To sum up, it is irrefutable that many freshers face the problem of lack of interpersonal skills due to various factors. However, this can be handled successfully by improving hiring methods or by training them after the recruit.