Some beneficial effects of social media in the classroom

From Facebook to Instagram, the young generation is strengthening their connections via social media platforms more than ever. Consisting of information about various aspects, ranging from economy, social problems to idle gossips of teenagers, social media is becoming an indispensable part of human’s life. Yet many people think social media is only a distraction to students rather than a useful tool. The drawbacks of social media in education, surprisingly, are outweighed by the obvious advantages in communication boosting, information searching, and distance learning. To begin with, communication boosting is what has established the reputation of social media, even in the classroom. Students, in particular, can connect with teachers, educators, experts and other students in a fast and efficient way. For instance, if a student cannot deal with a difficult homework, they now can use social media to interact with their teachers without waiting to meet each other physically. Through social media platforms such as Facebook, high school and colleges can communicate with students about upcoming events, make announcements, and sharing useful information. Therefore, a stronger connection between educators and students is formed, not to mention the possibility of parental involevement through social media as well. Secondly, social media is a tremendous source of information which can be accessed conveniently. There is a wide range of useful knowledge on social media, from scientific facts to insights shared by experts and professionals on various issues and technical topics. Students can also study extra curriculum via online courses and videos on YouTube or useful Facebook articles. Besides, students and teachers can sometimes rely on the newest, up-to-date information social media has to offer, although those information is not always precise and careful selections are usually required. Hence, it is undeniable that social media plays an important role in providing knowledge and even inspirations for students all over the world. Last but not least, social media enables the ability to study from great distance for students in special cases. Platforms like Skype, Zoom, and Teams are designed specifically for education and working purposes, in which they have teaching-boost functions such as online assignments, recording lectures, sharing documents as well as webinars. Teachers can easily set up classes online and simulteniously guarantee the quality to some extent. Fortunately, thanks to the high development of technology that studying and interacting online during the recent epidemic of Covid-19 become a global trend, and this is the very time when social media comes into prominence in education. To conclude, the advantages of social media in schools and classrooms are obvious and numerous. It is not exaggerated to say that social media can be highly effective in improving academic performance. In the future, there might be new platforms that enhance the interaction between people even more effective than today, so we can hope for a much better cooperation between social media and education.