Some believe that eventually all jobs will be done by artificially intelligent robots. What is your opinion?

Some people opine that artificially intelligent robots will gradually replace human workers. In my opinion, this is very unlikely to happen. Simple human tasks can be performed by robots; however, complex jobs requiring cognitive touch will still need to be done by humans. This essay will discuss why only a few jobs will be replaced by robots and the others / the rest will continue to need human effort. Simple human tasks that are repetitive and conditional in nature can easily be automated. This is because companies believe that the accuracy and productivity of high volume monotonous tasks are higher when performed by robots than humans. A survey on automation in back end banking process in India reveal that not only does the process errors drop by 95% but also productivity increases by 80% if robotic automation is implemented. For these reasons, human effort on regular menial tasks can be replaced by robotic automation. On the other hand, jobs requiring qualities like emotion and intuition will continue to be done by humans. This is because fields like psychology will always need a doctor’s diagnosis. For instance, in the USA, while all patients undergo computer based mental tests, the patient’s diagnosis can only be confirmed accurate by a psychiatrist post face to face counseling sessions. Hence, many complex tasks that need human judgement cannot be replaced by robots. To conclude, it is quite possible for robots to replace a few human jobs. Artificially intelligent robots can replace simple human tasks and support them in a few complex tasks; however, they can never replace all complex tasks done by them. Ultimately, non monotonous tasks requiring human touch can never be fully replaced.