Some believe that economic progress is the major requirement for any country whereas others say that various other developments are needed more than it. How far do you agree?

Despite high Gross Domestic Product and per capita income in many countries, the present scenario is grim as every social and national challenge is competing with each other to become a matter of grave concern for the entire world. I believe though economic growth is the major requirement for any country yet not sufficient to make the countries more livable. Apparently, the economic progress of a country enables it to develop its infrastructure, subsidize education and health services for their denizens and gear up transportation network. These facilities enhance human development index of their natives which further improves their efficiency and thus basic living standards. Also, it is state funding that supports research and development and maintenance of art and culture which thereby promotes tourism. Although industrialization contributes in economic growth yet it must be ensured that it does not lead to deforestation in the eco-sensitive areas and thus leading to ecological imbalance. Also, though the United States has the highest GDP, it being the third major polluter in the world has alarming levels of carbon emissions which affect human health. Economic progress, however, does not denote equal distribution of wealth rather at times leads to concentration of wealth in a few hands which is responsible for widening of gap between the rich and the poor. Therefore, the state needs to check that poverty must not be deep rooted else it would cause inflation through imposition of variety of heavy taxes on the tax payers. Also, the government needs to enforce stringent policies to control crime, terrorism and border disputes which increases their residents’ insecurities and reduces their happiness. Succinctly, to make countries more livable and ensure physical and mental well-being of the natives although economic growth is imperative yet a range of other developments are much needed as these are interrelated.