Somatic embryogenesis is a process where cells undergo sequence of development which similar to zygotic embryo’s development.

Somatic embryogenesis is a process where cells undergo sequence of development which similar to zygotic embryo’s development. In this study, we developed a protocol to induce indirect somatic embryogenesis from the basal leaf segments of Vanda tricolor Lindl. var. pallida. Embriogenic calli obtained from previous experiment were regenerated to form somatic embryo on half-strength MS medium supplemented with (0. 05-0. 20 mg L-1) benzyl amino purine (BAP) or in combination with 0. 01 mg L-1 naphtalene acetic acid (NAA). Embriogenic calli cultured on 0. 05 mg L-1 BAP incorporated with 0. 01 mg L-1 NAA were able to establish 90 % somatic embryos (SEs)’ structure at 30 days of culture period. Histological observation exhibited development of pro-embryo to form completed embryo. The pattern of SEs’ development started from embryogenic callus to form pro-embryo, followed by globular phase at 10 days of culture. Globular embryo elongated to form suspensor at 20 days of incubation period, and completed embryo. Germination of somatic embryo occurred on the half-strength MS medium without the adding of plant growth regulator.