Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using solar energy?

Owing to the rapid development, the use of fuel and energy has increased manifolds. In order to cater the needs of growing population, it is requisite to preserve the fuels or bring the alternative sources of energy in utilization. Therefore, solar energy has emerged as a potential source in houses adopted by many countries worldwide. There are many merits and demerits of using solar energy which will be explicitly discussed in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, there are myriad of pros of using solar energy in day-to-day life. Primarily, it is a renewable source of energy which makes it an incessant source of energy production. To explicate, as sun is the constant source of energy for every living thing, there is no dearth involved in the supply of sunlight in producing energy. Hence, during day-time one can get ample amount of sunlight which can be efficiently used by solar panels to produce solar energy. In addition, because solar energy is not detrimental for the environment, it can be one of the most favorable options of energy production. To clarify, solar energy is a clean resource whereas fossil fuels such as petrol, coal etcetera lead to harmful emissions of smoke upon its combustion. When energy is extracted using sunlight, there are no hazardous emissions involved. To illustrate, Solar panels are the devices which accumulate the heat of sunrays emitted by the sun where no radiations or gases are emitted; thus, leading to conversion of sunlight into energy. As a result, no environment is being harmed in producing energy with the help of sunlight. However, although there are very promising positives of this energy, the negatives of using solar energy cannot be overlooked. First of all, even though there is no extra cost entailed in producing energy through this resource, the initial set up of installing solar panels is quite expensive and cumbersome. To substantiate, because setting up of solar panels on the roofs of buildings and houses requires glass panels which are extremely costly, people have to think twice to install it in their homes. Apart from this, installation of the pipelines for solar energy is a tedious task which adds on to extra cost for the people. Moreover, solar energy does not prove to be a reliable source of energy in the areas which are facing adverse climatic conditions. To be more specific, the countries especially located near the poles have fewer amounts of sunny days throughout the year. Also, these areas confront abrupt weather conditions frequently leading to rains, hailstorms, and cloudy days. Therefore, it is not reliable to opt for solar energy where heavy batteries are requisite for its storage. To exemplify, countries such as Norway, Ireland and Scotland are comparatively colder regions where solar energy will not be a favorable option for energy production. To encapsulate, it can be concluded that although there are multifarious benefits of using solar energy, the drawbacks of it cannot be neglected. If solar energy is utilized wisely in certain areas across the globe, earth can be saved from the depletion of non-renewable sources of energy.