Sociology- criticism of labelling theory, that leads to underachievement in school

Outline three ways in which some sociologists have criticised the labelling theory as an explanation for underachievement in school (6 marks). It is too deterministic, labelling implies that success and failure is entirely determined by the attitude of teachers giving pupils little control over their success but not all pupils live up to their labels, some working-class children, labelled, “disruptive” will work harder to overcome them. Many interactionists criticise this theory because it is unable to be influenced by the individuals, this means the success and failure of the pupils is determined by the teachers. Interactionists believe that not all pupils reflected the label they have been given, for example if some of the working-class students have been told they are not clever and won’t get a better grade than the upper-class students, research has shown they will work harder to abolish this label they have been given. The labelling theory often has the opposite effects, Margaret Fuller’s research which was on Black girls in London’ comprehensive school. She found that the people she labelled as low achievers, gave a response to the negative label they were given, and worked hard to prove their teachers wrong.