Societies benefit from the closer relationship we have with foreigners through international tourism and business.

It is believed that communities get a lot of benefits from the international tourism industry and foreign investments. Although these industries sometimes bring negative effects to the local communities, I personally believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, foreign tourism and international business activities have some negative effects on societies. Many international travellers are bringing habits and cultural activities which are inappropriate for local communities. For example, many western people wear casual clothing such as short pants or bikini, when they visit the sacred temple Tanah Lot in Bali. The local people feel distracted with these kinds of attitude and behaviour since tourists have been warned about the clothing standard but they have abandoned it. Besides that, with the invasion of foreign investments, they have given negative effect for local businesses. One of the examples is that with the growing number of Seven eleven stores in Jakarta, it has given negative effect to the local traditional market. On the other hand, many societies have taken the advantage of foreign investment and international tourism. Firstly, tourism industries have created a lot of job opportunities for local people. As the tourism businesses grow, there are many new hotels and restaurants that are built and automatically absorb local employments. Secondly, international tourism and business make a significant contribution to a country's GDP. Taxes on hotels and restaurants and income taxes of expatriates contribute a significant amount of money for the country's income. Thirdly, with the high number of tourists that visit tourist attraction places, they have generated revenues for these places. As a result, these tourist attraction places could independently manage their own operational costs, without relying on government subsidies. In conclusion, international tourism and foreign investment have their own positive and negative sides. Despite the drawbacks, I do believe that international tourism and business have more benefit for local people and governments as well.