Social Media- meanincing or allowing free speech

Social media has been the forefront platform for teenagers to receive and collaborate on the latest current issues. But recently, there has been a rise in the number of allegations accusing that social media suppresses our public debate for various political reasons. On the contrary, there is also another side of people who holds the view that social media is the only place where rational debate and logic would thrive. Outwardly speaking, I cannot deny the validity of these arguments, but I am of the opinion that social media do stifle public debate to a certain extent. In the following, I am going to put forth two reasons why social media stifles public debate and harms the freedom of speech of us, individuals, and society at large as well. The most compelling argument supporting my stance is that information we receive and see on social media are not fact-checked and proven. The crux of the problem is due to the nature of how the platform works, social media allows anyone with any background to upload content onto their platform, while this is good on one hand because it allows an incredible degree of the free flow of information; on the other hand, it is not so much good for the validity and accuracy of the content which we receive. There have been several examples, where the news seen on this platform has misled and manipulated people into believing something that is not true and proven. To reiterate my idea, take the infamous case of the “Pizzagate” in 2019 as an example, where a pizza joint in the US has been allegedly accused of running a pedophile ring from its basement, with the help of bill and Hillary Clinton, the news spread quickly over the internet and even sparked a “pizzagate” forum with over thousand of subscribers. The news was later found to be false on the internet with the help of the investigation by the police. This is some of the many examples to showcase the absurdity and effect of social media. On the contrary, traditional news platform such as news channel on our television or the news paper article published every morning, these contents are actually backed with scientific facts and investigation. Unequivocally, the abundance of false information we find on social media is one of the major reasons why social media stifles public debate. Apart from question of validity, another factor is the abuse of free of speech on the internet. Since technology is more accessible than ever, people are capable of making an important impact on the internet world with only a click of button. This freedom comes with cost, making the infliction of a heated debate incredibly easy as well. Profiles and pages can be created within a minute and users do not have their identity and can remain anonymous as well. This sparks the cause of internet bullying as well. According an research done by the Hong Kong Public Opinion Research Institute, 37% percent of people interviewed aged between 12 to 17 have reported being bullied online, of those people 30% have even been reported of being bullied more than once. Some of the victims are even left with psychological trauma and fear of expressing their opinions as a result. There’s no denying that the heated debate and oftentimes one-sided argument we seen on social media has sparked the causes of many internet bullying cases, which also shows the reason why social media stifiles public debate. Advocates of the opposite side may post the view that social media allows public debate simply because its contents are not centralised and owned by the government, making the information there being most politically neutral and accurate. These opponents certainly have lost the slight of the fact that fake profiles and information can be created and spread out in a flash as well. Numerous political parties have been caught creating fake profiles on the internet and spreading fake allegations against their parties to win the election and enrollment. Not only that, there are increasing amounts of decentralized, non-profit news platforms and journals being put out day by day as well. Truly allowing the free flow of unbiased and fact-checked information and enabling a place of rational public debate, to reach consensu. Making the ditch from social media more convincing than ever. On the whole, social media at this stage still has failed to provide a place where rational debate can carry, its continuous flow of fake information and ability to spark a case of bullying from a heated debate, truly speaks for itself of whether being a place where public debate is stifled or allowed. Maybe one day, when everyone finally comes to their senses and carry out moral responsibility to not to spread fake information or spark a case of online bullying, it can become what it was truly created for.