Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advent of internet, lot of new avenues were opened for people in form which they communicate and share information with each other. Most popular of them are the sundry social websites like Facebook, Twitter etcetra. These platforms have ubiquitous influence on people of all age groups and their users are increasing at an exponential rate. But nowadays there is debate going on various news channel and in people that information shared on these media is not secure and can be acquired by any company easily. But in my opinion, I think still the advantages of social media overshadow its disadvantages. To embark on, the social media has revolutionized the means by which people used to communicate. Firstly, people can talk to their friends and families at very fast speed and it does not cost too high, what people need is an internet connection and smart phone or laptop. Secondly, on websites like Facebook, people can create accounts and friends, they can share photographs on it. The fascinating thing about it is that one can get instant reaction from kith and kins that are online. Hence, the social media has played he role of bridging gap between friend and relative who are apart thousands of miles. Every thing has its two side, if there is shining side, there will be a dark side also and same is the case with social websites. Though they many advantages, but they are closely followed by disadvantages too. The most serious issue with these platforms and which haunt the people most is theft of personal information and data. There are thousands of cases in which information of people, like email id's, credit credential were leaked to some other platforms that misused them. Secondly, the content that people used see on their platforms was also manipulated to influence there thoughts during voting in some countries, questioning the credibility of such websites. To conclude, I would reiterate my decision that advantages of these media eclipses the disadvantages.