Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, people from young children to old grandparents are on social media sites and applications. Some would say that there's only a few negative points about posting and sharing our personal life on these social platforms but I believe there are so much more downsides to it and the benefits aren't superior to negative points. Social media enables people to communicate with their friends even in distance. It not only provides a great community for product owners to find new costumers and promote their products in related market but also helps them to advertise in an efficient way. On the downside, we are dealing with privacy problems more than ever because of the social media. People share their personal information and photos. This information can be misused in so many ways. For example, sharing the location in geo-tagging applications while they are on a trip far from their home, will rise the chance of house burglary. Some companies gather the information from social media and sell their users data that can cause so much problems. Another con of social media is that it has become a tool for showing off about expensive acquisitions which can make some people ashamed and embarrassed about their life. To put in a nutshell, social media is more like a two-edged sword. It can give us the ability of communication and being in touch with our loved ones and sharing our thoughts and learning from others opinions. However, there is a possibility that our shared photos and personal information be exploited and misused. From my point of view the cons of social media network outweigh the pros.