People who cause their own illnesses through unhealthy lifestyles and poor diets should have to pay more for health care. with this opinion?

The increased cost of health care has become a major concern around the globe. The policymakers, health administration and many citizens argue that the health care rates should be based on health of individuals. However, doing so would increase the burden on administration and government as they will have to do extra check before deciding the quote. This essay will discuss for sides of the arguments in details. Firstly, it seems fair that the people who invest time, money and most importantly efforts, into living healthy lifestyle shouldn’t be bearing the extra cost of health care caused due to people who are lazy and irresponsible towards their own health. Irrespective of health care cost, eating healthy food and regular exercise is extremely important for everyone and nowadays this information is broadly publicized on social media and television. In spite of it, few people are ignorant and choose the junk food for shorter happiness. Nevertheless, they fall sick sooner or later and consumes the major finance of the health insurance companies thus eventually raising the premium for the healthy people. Therefore, up to an extent, I believe that the insurance premium should be decided based on individual’s health. As this will not only help the people trying to leave the healthy lifestyle but also will encourage other to have a healthy diet and regular workout. Although customizing the rate seems to be amazing idea, practically it is cumbersome to implement. Major drawback is insurance companies and administration will have to do the pre-health check-up and ensure that multiple check-ups are done over the period of time to arrive at the quote. This entire process can be time consuming and add potential delay in the process. Furthermore, the insurance companies will have to make extra investment for doing this health check-ups for every customer. To conclude, the idea of making the people with poor diet and unhealthy habits to pay more for health care, seems extremely lucrative for others who follow healthy lifestyle but in practice it is a tedious job for policymakers. Therefore, a tradeoff between fairness and efficiency should be maintained.