Social media, indeed, has enhanced the communication network and allow people to keep abreast of the happenings around them. In my opinion, despite certain advantages, I believe that the drawbacks of using social media outweigh the advantages.

The use of social media, undoubtedly, has some beneficial effects on users. Owing to social media, it has facilitated communication among people irrespective of geographical barriers. Consequently, people could easily interact with family and friends, living abroad, and can inquire about their well-being. Furthermore, social media has played a prominent role in alleviating stress and, indeed, a source of leisure and recreation. For instance, recent studies reveal that people feel delighted after sharing and receiving funny trolls and memes from their friends, which made them rejuvenate and stress-free. Be that as it may, I would argue that the advantages are outweighed by the disadvantages. The most notable demerit of social media is that it has reduced the productivity of people in the workplace. The justification for this is that the employees tend to spend time on various social networking apps like What's App, Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter and could be distracted by the shared information, which adversely affects their performance. Additionally, Social media also victimized children, as they spend excessive time on social media. Therefore, it has adverse effects on their studies, and it even disrupts the bond between children and parents. The authenticity of the news derived from social media is also questionable. The news shared could be meticulously crafted because of false intentions and generate panic in society. For example, during the recent COVID-19 pandemic, various fake news was shared on the social networking apps, which made people worried about their life. In conclusion, even if social media has provided certain advantages to the users, it seems that the drawbacks are more significant than the benefits owing to reduced productivity of employees, detrimental effects on children studies, and the reliability of news shared.