Smoking can cause serious health problems and should be made illegal.

There are various opinions about banning smoking and making it illegal. Tobacco and the obstacles for its limitation are the main concern in many countries. I will explain more in details why I think it should not be banned. Firstly, by forcing people to stop smoking, the government is undermining the people’s right to freedom and privacy. It should be people’s choice to whether continue smoking or consider the consequences and stop. Even if the government manages to ban smoking, they cannot realistically control the situation as many people will continue to smoke in the comfort of the houses, away from prying eyes. In many countries the consumption of alcohol or drugs has been made illegal and still, their governments have not been able to reduce the number of cases. Also, selling tobacco, being a multi-million-dollar business, cannot actually be restricted. There are many businesses which will be affected by this restriction. Consequently, by the reduction in tobacco consumption and the demand, companies or even countries, such as Cuba, which are solely focused on tobacco business will be economically challenged and people in these businesses may eventually lose their jobs. Therefore, banning smoking can negatively affect certain sectors of society. In addition, by limiting smoking, economic and social problems will arise as the trades concerning tobacco will move to the black market. People who cannot conduct legal business, will go to the black market which has problems of its own. It is the epicenter of other serious crime, such as trafficking, and can have adverse effects on the economic climate of the country. For instance, alcohol consumption is banned in some countries, but people still buy it from the black market, and the government is unable to stop the circumstances. However, tobacco is not without drawbacks. Needless to say that smoking is not only harmful to the consumer, but also harms those around them. It is a known fact that even the ‘passive smokers’ are in danger of health issues even though they are not directly the user. Smoking causes respiratory diseases such as Asthma and lung cancer. In conclusion, although smoking is considered a health hazard, it cannot be limited as there are barriers that prevent complete control over the matter.