Smart devices have made it easier to access global information on your fingertips. Discuss the various advantages and disadvantages

With the technological advancements that the world is currently witnessing, not only has it become easier to access worldly information but it has also become more efficient. There was a time when newspapers, television and radios were the only source of information but now all kinds of news can be seen over our phones or tablets with the touch of our fingertips. Such is the beauty of refinements in technology. Smart devices offer a number of advantages. First and foremost would be the ease with which information is available at various platforms and all of them can be accessed together in one place. There are several apps of various leading news channels where we can get either live or written information as per our need. Customisation is also something that favors smart devices. Now we can customise the information that we want rather than reading unnecessary news. Smart devices like phones and tablets have features which can increase or decrease the size of the text according to the person's needs. Excessive straining can also be avoided with a blue light filter which eases the strain on our eyes and we can read longer on our smartphones. Now even the remotest parts of the world can have access to basic information about the events across the world on their phones. Comparison can be made according to the information provided by various sources which can help in deciding which news to trust and not religiously follow one source like olden times. The expenditure on buying regular newspapers have reduced since people can now access everything on their phones. The range of books that are also available online exceeds to that found in a typical library and therefore it becomes easier to find a book of your choice. Data that is difficult to access, for example historical details on a certain topic or archives of a certain news, can also be easily found now with the help of Internet. The hassle has reduced when it comes to extracting various sources of information and efficiency has increased. While there are certain advantages to the advent of smart devices, one cannot ignore the various disadvantages that follow. People have now become more dependent on phones and do not realise the importance of books. The feeling which one gets smelling an old book and reading it in a library used to be more pleasurable than reading selective parts of it over the phone. People forget to socialise and discuss relevant topics because they are always on their phones or tablets. People who were employed to print and deliver newspapers are now losing their jobs as the importance of newspapers are decreasing. Writers are earning less because people prefer reading their books online and those are particularly cheap compared to hard copies. People fail to understand the importance of hard work that was put before in finding old resources as now everything is available at their fingertips. There is also more distraction involved when a person reads online and he often tends to lose focus and miss out on important information. In conclusion, there is no doubt that the advantages surpass the disadvantages. The introduction of smart devices have made our lives easier and the variety of resources available to access certain information has made our lives more efficient. Certainly the prosperity of mankind is dependent on such advances.