Skin optimization of residential buildings with the approach of reducing energy consumption in hot and dry climates (Case study: design of residential buildings in Yazd)

The issue of energy crisis in recent years has attracted the attention of countries around the world, and with increasing population growth and increasing need for building construction and consequently more consumption of fossil fuels, communities are concerned about reducing fossil fuel sources and environmental pollution. The building sector accounts for a significant percentage of global energy. Energy consumption in buildings, especially residential buildings, in addition to a load of cooling and heating, covers all stages of construction and operation of the building. Residential buildings make up the bulk of the city's buildings, which have the highest energy consumption of any existing building. whereas building skins are an efficient separator between indoor and outdoor space that has a very effective role in providing thermal comfort to residents and reducing energy consumption; Moving towards optimizing the shell of residential buildings seems necessary. The city of Yazd has been selected for the research because of its special climate and hot and dry climate, and in most months of the year, comfort conditions are not provided for users without the use of heating and cooling equipment. The purpose of this study is to design a residential building in Yazd that by using passive elements in the initial design steps can reduce its energy consumption. In this dissertation, after reviewing the effective parameters in energy consumption and energy simulation methods, Builder Design software with an Energy Plus engine is used to analyze the energy of the building. For this purpose, we first examined the optimal orientation of a residential building in the city of Yazd. In the next steps, the optimal proportions, the percentage of optimal windows on each side of the building, the optimal form of the building, the effect of the number of floors on the building's energy consumption, and the percentage of insulation of the building's exterior shell on load reduction were investigated. Finally, after studying the climate of Yazd, a residential building has been designed with the results of studies in Yazd; After simulating and adapting the energy consumption of the building to the criteria of topic 19, it was observed that the designed building falls into the category of low energy buildings.