Since international media companies expand throughout the world, the rising popularity and consistency of social international platforms are becoming a matter of concern worldwide.

Since international media companies expand throughout the world, the rising popularity and consistency of social international platforms are becoming a matter of concern worldwide. Although international media is making the world a global village with no barriers in communication, cultural diversity has its importance. Definitely, the negatives of the expansion of international media overlap its positives. Both the merits and demerits for the same are discussed in the impending paragraphs. To begin with, international media is not only promoting cultural globalization but is also favoring cultural homogeneity which has the potential to thwart cultural diversity. To elaborate, the dominance of international media is a sign of western culture expansionism which includes language, clothes, music, and food. Moreover, as international media is owned and operated by a handful of media moguls amongst those most of whom are Americans, it is leading to the loss of media diversity. To cite an example, nowadays in India jeans which have gained popularity amongst people of everyone generation have replaced traditional outfits in day-to-day lives of people. In addition, seizing control over all creative industries, Universal companies are adversely affecting various cultures by reshaping the perceptions, beliefs, and norms of indigenous people of different countries. To clarify, the American lifestyle is more associated with materialism and individuality, whereas people of Asian countries value communal life and family solidarity more. Nowadays, people’s credulousness is leading to an alteration of their perspectives on life. To cite an example, a newspaper ‘The Tribune’ an article about cultures and credos of people before and after exposure to mass media was published. It writes that before the exposure 90% of families in India were joint albeit according to the latest data it is reduced to only 30%. The legacy which was continuing from the period of our ancestors is now getting diminished. On the contrary, international media is enhancing globalization consequently it is facilitating cross-cultural communication as well as communication between people with different language backgrounds. Owing to the aforementioned fact, areas like science and news use common language and this is making the prevalence of knowledge all over the world easier. To encapsulate, it can be concluded that the exportation of western cultures worldwide has put many native cultures on the verge of extinction. Ordinary people, as well as government, had better preserve their rich culture otherwise future would never be able to know about the valuable heritage of the country. Even if the common tongue has its own merits losing our language our identity would have severe effects on the diversity of culture which gets passed on to future generations.