Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizens themselves?

Some people think that rich countries shall support poor countries by providing adequate food and education, while others argue it is the government’s task to look after its citizens. In my view, wealthy nations be going to support the poor only if there is a scarcity of natural resources in the country. There is no doubt that the government is responsible for the well-being of its citizens. In democratic countries, the government is elected by its people so it is the responsibility of the government to improve the quality of life for the people. The government be going to define long term plans to improve the welfare of the citizens and provide high standard of study for the people. It be going to identify and use the natural resources to improve the economy of the country. Lack of planning will result in poor study and low standard of living. On the other hand, due to inadequate natural resources, a number of countries are unable to raise the standards on their own. Countries like Somalia are affected by severe droughts and water scarcity which make it difficult for people to lead normal lives. In these cases wealthy nations be going to come forward to improve the quality of life. Without their help, the government is unable to meet the basic needs of its people. They are unable to design the long term plan due to the fact of lack of funds and scarcity of natural resources. To conclude, rich countries be going to help the poorer nations only if the later do not have abundant natural resources to support their people. If they have good local resources then it be going to be the concerned government’s responsibility to improve the standard of living for its citizens.