Should public transportation be free for city residents?

Firstly, making public transport free, the Government would be encouraging people to use public transport instead of driving to and from work. This would reduce the number of cars on the road. Global warming is a serious issue and if public transport was free, more people would use it, taking cars off the road. For example, one train could take 2000 cars off the road. A public transport system with 20 trains could take 40, 000 cars off the road. Secondly, countless people of a country will get benefited from this and they can travel freely and use their earning to fulfil other basic needs. It helps people to get out of poverty. For instance, a bus ticket in uk is about £2, if a person takes the bus twice a day it means that the person would louse £1. 460 a year just on transportation. This money could be used to buy clothes, food or something that is really necessary. However, public transportation services would be a monetary burden for the government. It would be difficult for the government to sustain it. This, in turn, would affect the quality and reliability of provided services. Additionally, in order to subsidise services, the government would have to use public money. This would be done at the expense of other sectors. Take, for example, education and healthcare. In order to make public transport free, authorities have to spend less on services like education and healthcare. In conclusion, free public transportation would accelerate clean air and less traffic congestion in metropolitans. Nonetheless, the detrimental side-effects on the economy cannot be ignored. Therefore, I tend to believe that free-of-charge public transportation should be provided in most big cities.