Should people who text-message while they drive be severely penalized?

It is irrefutable to say that in this tech-savvy period people are mostly on their smart phones or any other gadgets. While some do not support the notion of punishing driving individuals who text and drive i am a supporter of it. This essay will highlight some consequences resulted because of texting and driving simultaneously and derive to a conclusion supporting the some punishment. To begin with, trend of messaging while driving is causing serious accidents at places which is at times leading to death of people because of the reason driving needs concentrations on roads rather than on other thing. To exemplify this, according to Road Safety Department in USA the number of road rages has raised owing to the cell phones with enabled messaging facilities. The repercussion of it is having a strict law that would compel its citizen to use less messaging while driving should be encouraged. Moreover, raising awareness among the driver about the need of road safety needs to be implemented as the major causes of accidents in roads are reckless drivers. Mobile phones, being the major cause of accidents, penalizing drivers can minimize the accidents; however, there are other causes of accidents like drunk driving, underage drivers, not following the traffic rules which needs to be taken in consideration too. To recapitulate, penalizing is considered as effective way to discourage drivers from using text messages which will ultimately reduce road rages.