should goverment spend more on public service than arts

It is often argued that the government should finance public services instead of spending its budget on arts, music and theatre. Although I agree that government’s spending in public services plays a pivotal role in a country’s development, I think that proper funding of arts sector is also crucial for the society. One the one hand, government should definitely allocate a large part of its budget on public services. A country’s development is largely dependent on the services it offers to the residents, most people paying taxes would want their hard earned money to be used towards something that is used for their welfare and benefit. Therefore, it is really essential that a large portion of government’s spending goes towards building and improving basic public services such as hospitals, schools, parks, roads etc. Public services satisfy the primary needs of the society and thus need a proper funding. On the other hand, arts, music and theatre is not a waste of money, since they are an integral part of society’s cultural and intellectual development and amusement. It is often believed that a country is defined by its cultural heritage and art, music and theatre play a major part in shaping it. In the present world of web, an artist not only has the reach to a nation but to a global level, often not only giving recognition to them individually but to the entire country. This way, art serves as a major source of nation’s personal and intellectual development. Moreover, visiting museums, watching movies and listening to music are common ways of relaxation and entertainment. Thus, art sector is also an important part of the country and should not be neglected. To sum up, though I agree that government should allocate a major part of its spending on public services, I think arts, music and theatre should also be financed since they play an important role in people’s development and entertainment.