Gender inequality at the labour market

When evaluating the regression equations, it is necessary to take into account that women's participation in the labor force is endogenous, since the sample excludes women who did not want to work for the wages offered in the labor market, but chose not to work at all. Such assumptions lead to a bias in the estimates of the coefficients obtained by least squares method. Offset correction is performed using the Heckman procedure (Heckman, 1979). However, our Heckman procedure showed that the probability of being included in the sample, for both women and men, is not related to the level of wages. Therefore, the simulation results below were obtained without correcting for sample bias. The lack of influence of wages on selection for employment in the countries of the former USSR is also noted in the works (Oshchepkov 2007; Khitarishvili 2019). The obtained results indicate a different nature of the selection for work in countries with economies in transition compared with developed economies. The first additive component which is on the right represents the explained share of the gender wage gap attributable to observed worker characteristics. The second and third terms are the unexplained share of the gender pay gap, which characterizes the difference in returns to characteristics. Newmark's modification makes it possible to solve the problem of establishing the wage structure at the same productivity, by determining it by coefficients from the regression equation common for men and women, and also to obtain more accurate estimates of the unexplained part of the decomposition. Another problem is sensitivity of decomposition methods to the choice of base for categorical variables. To solve this problem, we normalized categorical variables using Yun's method (Yun, 2005), according to which the “true” contribution of the variables to the wage difference is the mean of the estimates of the coefficients of equations with different base categories. A limitation of the Oaxaca-Blinder method is its application only for the decomposition of average wages. Decomposition methods based on quantile regressions are used to decompose the differences in wages between men and women in other parts of the distribution. In accordance with the method (Chernozhukov et al. , 2008), a linear probabilistic model is constructed for group A. Based on the obtained estimates of the parameters β ̂_A, the predicted values of the probabilities Λ(X_i β ̂_A (y)) are calculated, где Λ(·) - is a linear relationship function and averaging is performed over the predicted probabilities to obtain a counterfactual distribution F ̂_(Y_A^C ) (y): F ̂_(Y_A^C ) (y)=1/n_B ∑_(i∈B)▒〖Λ(X_i β ̂_A (y))〗. (3) After obtaining the counterfactual distribution, counterfactual quantiles are found by inverting the estimated distribution function: Q_(A, θ)^C=F ̂_(Y_A^C)^(-1) (θ). (4) Using the decomposition method described above, it is possible to perform an aggregate decomposition of pay differentials. The results of the decomposition based on quantile regressions indicate significant differences in the estimates of the gender gap at different levels of the wage distribution. As we move from low-paying jobs to high-paying jobs, we see an increase in both the overall pay gap and the effects of the structure and composition of wages. In contrast to the results of the study (Newell, Reilly 2001), where the authors recorded a difference in the size of the gap between the 1st and 9th percentiles at 0. 33 log points for Kazakhstan, we found a decrease in this difference to 0. 13 log points. This indicates a decrease in the differentiation of the gender wage gap between quantile groups of workers. However, the problem of the largest gap for high-paid men and women remains at 33% versus 18% for low-paid workers. The highest value of the unexplained part of the gender gap at the 90% quantile indicates differences in remuneration of men and women, other things being equal, and may indicate the presence of a "glass ceiling" in the Kazakhstani labor market. The different signs for the explained gender wage gap in different parts of the distribution indicate different contributions of the variables to the size of the gap. Consequently, a more detailed analysis of the causes of the gender gap for groups of workers with different income levels is required, which indicates further prospects for studying gender inequality in labor market of the Republic of Kazakhstan. However, analysis of the gender pay gap at different distribution quantiles showed significant differences between low-paid and high-paid workers. The wage gap between men and women is widening as the transition from low-paid to high-paid workers continues to grow. The largest return on decile 9 of the distribution of wages indicates the “glass ceiling” problem in the Kazakhstani labor market.