Should entertainers and sports stars be paid such large sums of money? What are your views?

What comes to mind if someone mentions an entertainer or an athlete? People think of their extravagant lifestyle, or that their wages are disproportionate. In today’s era, many say that athletes and entertainers live in an opulent world by all the money they make. Also, their duty is not that arduous to do. Thus, many people find their rewards unfair, especially when comparing their super salaries with those of top surgeons or research technologists, or even leading politicians who have the responsibility of governing the country. Most of the people spending their whole life can never achieve this. This salary gap between those famous people and us leads to a question-do those professional athletes and entertainers deserve this money? From my prospect, I believe that they do deserve this high payment. However, their wages are not determined by considering the contribution to society a person makes, or the level of responsibility he or she holds. Instead, they reflect the public popularity of sport and television in general and the level of public support that successful stars can generate. Hence, the notion of ‘fairness’ is not the issue. In that case, famous celebrities are profoundly compensated for their performance and this is often manifold higher than the income of other professionals. However, this is not true for all who are in the entertainment or sports industry. Actors, sports professionals, musicians, writers, and similar artists have to struggle a lot to get their desired success and not all can reach that point. For instance, when we find it quite alluring summing up the yearly earning of Lionel Messi, the football sensation from Argentina, we forget to think about thousands of others who never made it to the national team. They are not even paid moderately by the Sports Federation. Thus, only successful stars earn extravagant sum. There are a number of reasons why this should be the case. Firstly, they will carry a heavy burden by being constantly under the spotlight. While there are those who enjoy such attention, living under public scrutiny can be quite stressful for others. On top of that, it is quite likely that they will have no privacy, even in regard to their personal lives. Therefore, there should be an equal trade-off in the form of money for those sacrifices. Besides, their appearances are often broadcasted all over the world. For instance, the movie they starred in might be screened at hundreds of cinemas. Thus, the movie earnings itself would be high, so it would only make sense that they get high pay for playing in it.