Should education and healthcare be free of charge and funded by the government, or should it be the responsibility of the people to pay for these services? Discuss the above and give your opinion using examples.

Several people opine that it is the primary responsibility of the government to provide free education and healthcare to the individuals of its nation while there are a number of people argue that funding of these basic facilities are to be managed by the people who opt for it. I will attempt to present both sides of this argument before commenting my own views. Examining the former opinion, the primary argument that supporters put forward is that the basic health amenities and free education are everyone’s right and no citizen should abstain from receiving them. In addition to that, they also support the idea that these facilities are to be freely available throughout the country as it contributes to the national economy. While it is difficult for any government to support children’s learning process they should consider facilitating free education opportunities as majorly contributes to the overall progress of the nation. It is also noted that many countries provide free health care services to its population which not only builds a stronger and healthier nation but also improves its life expectancy. Besides funding the services, if the government is involved in providing health benefits at a larger scale then citizens can derive confidence in the quality of services. On the other hand, there are a number of people who believe that health and education are the basic facilities one needs to provide to his/her family. Their argument revolves around different values. Firstly, they argue that a person who freely receives these fundamental facilities tend to avoid working and end up getting involved in criminal activities. Secondly, although the government collects hefty taxes from individuals and corporate giants they do have an yearly budget deficit which results in significant external lending. Given the ways to fill in the shortfall in the national estimate plan are only handful federal bodies need to depend on the taxes to improve infrastructure and take care of military forces which are equally important. Personally, I believe that state authorities need to facilitate academic and health related services to an extent that an individual remain focused on contributing towards the development of a nation’s economy.