Should criminals be punished with lengthy jails terms or re-educated and rehabilitation, using community service programmes, for instance, before being reintroduce in the society?

Crime and criminals are the major problems which the entire world is facing. The foundation of progressive society is in possible with the existence of crime. Punishment and rehabilitation can both contributing reforming the behaviour of criminals. I strongly opine that rehabilitation is better option than lengthy in imprisonment and punishment should be given to criminals according to the crimes they have committed. To initiate with, prison act as universities of crimes. Prisons are filled with all types of criminals ranging from petty criminals to hardcords criminals. Therefore, if a person stays longer in jail, they learn more about crime. Apart from this, the burden of government increases. When they are released from the imprison they go to back their old ways and start reoffending. Thus, rehabilitation is a prudent idea. Moreover, many criminals commit crime unattentionally. The route cause of commuting crime can be poverty, unemployment and so forth. Unless, these factors are not eliminated, crime cannot be routed out. Therefore, it will be a sagacious ideas to rehabilitate the criminals. Vocational training programs can bring change and give better skill and knowledge which can be fruitful. To summarise, punishment with lengthy jail can ne solution to lessen crime for the hardcore criminals. It is the prime and soul responsibility of the government to re-educate petty criminals before introducing them in the society to create peaceful environment in the world.