“ SHOULD COUNTRIES ENCOURAGE TOURISM”? DISCUSS

Nowadays, tourism plays a virtual role and has been one of the sectors that contribute to the country’s economy. Some people claimed that many nations should encourage tourism. Whereas it is obvious tourism brings several benefits to the countries, it is also true to say that it may bring disadvantages as well. One of the main advantages of encouraging tourism is the development of the country’s infrastructure. The desire to attract tourists to a certain area often encourages governments to improve local facilities which are beneficial for both, citizens and tourists. Moreover, many people claim that tourism is an important source of income, which will be new job openings for citizens of the country and reduce the unemployment rate. For instance, a thriving tourist industry implies an increasing need for a variety of services such as hotels, transport, restaurants, and entertainment. This results in a considerable number of jobs being created for people. Finally, tourism allows people to experience other cultures. They may see how foreigners behave, what clothes they wear or what are their customs. On the other hand, some people claim that over-development leads to ugly, crowded tourist spots and environmental damage. Therefore, the development is necessary but it has to be done thoroughly. Not to mention that the impact of tourism may destroy the local way of life. This is caused by people in a country changing their lifestyle, customs, and language in order to more effectively serve visitors. What is more, a country’s economy may become so dependent on tourism that it is weakened especially in the COVID-19 pandemic. In conclusion, no one can deny that there are several benefits and drawbacks when countries encourage tourism. However, I strongly believed that the advantages of encouraging tourism outweigh its disadvantage, which has many great opportunities for the development of the country.