Should advertisements be regulated?

Yes, I think advertisements should definitely be regulated. But had you asked me this exact question 10 years ago, I would probably have said no. The reason I am convinced that the advertisement should be regulated is related to rise of giant tech companies and big data. The amount of personal data these companies hoard is enormous. Combined with more powerful computing resources, the data is being used to create these complex user models which can be used to predict the exact headline needed to gain my attention. And it is being refined every day. Hence, they can use these models to borderline manipulate us into buying things we don’t even need. This is the main reason I am scared about data driven advertising and think the government should intervene. There are also other reasons for regulation like protecting children. The advertisements targeted to children should definitely be banned. Mandatory health warning in advertisements related to tobacco and alcohol is a very good idea. Although I believe companies should be able to share information about their product in the most freeast way possible, there are some edge cases where we should be careful and possibly intervene. There are also many grey areas like ads about sugary products, but in conclusion I think advertisements should be regulated.