Several people assert that the main cause of crime is an economically disadvantaged background. However, others say that crime is caused by a person's nature. Discuss both ideas and give your own opinion.

Behavioural geneticist’s claim that it is difficult to determine humans’ complex traits because environmental factors also moderate the result. Asserting to one’s nature for a crime would be claiming that biology is at fault which no science has proven till date. In this essay, I will elaborate on these ideas and explain why a fragile economic background is a top catalyst for criminal like activities. Several psychologists have argued about anti-social traits before implying that, these characters could be congenital. Most of them, however, gets over-looked by protective parents but once these children grow, they start to display them. For instance, one of the youngest serial killer aged six was interviewed by professionals in India. He said that he used to kill birds and keep them ensconced in his room. When questioned about the reason for his act he had simply smiled and said it made him happy seeing the bird, lifeless. Therefore, a controversy started about nature vs nurture. Everybody was stunned and the public was terrified of the child. On the conflicting, I am of the opinion that a poor economic background is a principal cause for this. Many social scientists have concluded that the right to quality of life must be present for a society to be healthy. Many thieves in my place have no proper education, food nor a decent roof over their head. They live below the poverty line. It is no surprise that the crime rate of my country is very high since there are theft and robbery every other day. When taken into custody these criminals have reported that they have no sellable skill in the market so they chose to commit crimes for sustaining their life. Arbitrating their act is easy but finding out the cause might open the can of worms that has inflicted our society for a long time. In conclusion, even though some criminals are dangerous even as a child, science doesn’t say otherwise. Lack of quality of life propels many individuals to the path of criminality which has been recorded.