Prevention is better than cure. Researching and treating disease is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree.

Some people believe that preventive measures are a better way to tackle the disease-related illness. I completely agree that this is the best way to solve our uprising problems that currently our health industry is facing. With the current pandemic halting the earth it has become more evident that people in Wuhan should be more careful and responsible in their diet. Millions of dollars wasted, seven continents paused, millions jobless, dying doctors and nurses our mother earth is crippled. The manufacture of the UK led vaccine alone costs billions of pounds. In addition to this, another million has been spent on research about the new infection strain. This amount could have been used to tackle pollution, rising poverty, education which is a never-ending crisis on earth. If preventative measures are to be implemented by government agencies and campaigns there could be a higher chance of people surviving, hence less mortality. This could reduce health care cost, could save more lives and ensure that the money is used in areas where it's absolute. To exemplify, people should be encouraged to stop smoking rather than going through numerous chemotherapy and expensive drug trials to treat their lung cancer in the hope of getting well. Scientists have shown that a mere 15% chance of survival can be seen in people suffering from cancer. The treatments fail and the patients die of extreme pain. The health industry loses both its economy and its patients. In conclusion, research and treatment tantamount to a large economy of the society. An effective solution could be to help prevent the spread of disease at an early age through awareness programmes so that lives and economy can both be saved.