Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

As some languages are spoken by very few people, they may face extinction. Although some argue that governments ought to save them by providing public money, I believe that it is a waste of resources. On the one hand, there are some reasons why people feel that uncommon languages should be retained. Many people explain this in a way that a language is our tradition, which is also a part of society. In addition, it is rare to hear people who accept the extinction of their mother languages since the vast majority wants to speak them. However, there are too many languages which are spoken by the minority and it is just beyond imagination to try to save them by funding money. Consequently, the benefits of this point of view are unlikely to support. On the other hand, there are numerous merits of globalization that makes local languages forgotten. Firstly, attempts to keep languages alive may interrupt education as a great deal of effort, required to save them, might have a negative impact in a way that local people do not have enough time to learn foreign languages. Secondly, the number of languages spoken by few individuals is too high to retain. For example, in India there are 132 languages that are spoken only by certain tribes of natives, which makes it impossible to save those. Finally, governments have other critical fields such as health and education to provide money for. In conclusion, it seems to me right that spending resources on fading languages is impractical.