Serious Violent crimes among people who are under 18 are becoming more common. Some people think that children who commit serious crimes should be treated like adults, while others would say that they should be rehabilitated.

It is the prime responsibility of the government to maintain law and order in society. Some would argue that teenagers and adults should be treated equally while punishing them, whereas others say that minors should be sent to rehabilitation centres. While punishing minors as grown-ups will be a quick and easy solution, I believe that adolescents should be treated differently and rehabilitation is a better option for them. On the one hand, treating them like grown-ups would actually reduce the crime rate in society. By providing harsh punishments such as the death penalty and life imprisonment to youngsters like others, the ruling body can take them off the street, and they think that this will hinder them to include in criminal activities at a later time. For example, in the Arabian countries, the ruling body shows ruthlessness to culprits and does not consider any difference between an immature and an adult to control crime rate. However, I think that the offender’s age should be considered before sentencing them because adolescents are not fully developed as grown-ups. On the other hand, it is thought that rehabilitation will prove a milestone to curb the issue of crimes among toddlers. Owing to their less age, they are not aware of the consequences of any violent crime. It will become easy to identify the root cause of crime among them in such type of centers which can be addressed in a better way so that eventually they can rejoin the community again. For instance, in the United State, young murderers are rehabilitated and provided a new identity so that they can live a normal life outside the prison. I agree with this statement as this reform will ensure that they will not only obey the rules but also deny becoming a part of any crime. In conclusion, although sending young criminals to prison reduce the crime rate yet it will not actually curb the issue and that is why it would be better to provide a chance to young criminal after spending some time in rehabilitation to become good citizens.