Sentencing prisoners for long term punishment is the best way to reduce crime.

A school of thought argue that to the control crime rate, the best application is the use of long term imprisonment. Since it creates fear and stop individuals to commit crime. However, I believe that there are many other effective ways to tackle crime which I will discuss upcoming paragraphs. To substantiate, I would like to say that installing cctv camera deter criminals to take part in any criminals activity. Another way of eliminate crime is to provide equal opportunities to all, for instance education, jobs. Besides this, if there is a check on sale of drugs, definitely crime can be mitigated. Therefore, I believe why long term imprisonment in not the efficient meansure to control crime. However, opponents advocate that commoners will think twice before taking part in anti - social activities, if they know that Due to this indicidences of crimes like murden, rape, other are very few in compansion to stealing, pickpocketing since punishment are minimals. So from the understandable why sending criminals behind bars for long term is effective. To recapitulate, Although many people favour the idea of long term punishment to overcome increasing crime rate, I believe that good education, equal distribution of opportunities and limitation or drug supply are more effective in reducing crimes.