SEMANTICS REFLECTIVE LEARNING JOURNAL

In this reflective writing, we would like to describe an experience that we have from the chapter one of semantic subject in this semester. The content of this chapter includes three units. Unit one mainly provides the definition of semantics and the meaning. By the lessons, we have known that semantics is the study of meaning in language and the meanings carried by words may be affected by a speaker’s will. The meaning gives two parts that speaker meaning and sentence meaning. In the next unit, we have learnt about some basic notions in semantics that are sentences, utterances and propositions. An utterance is any stretch of talk, by one person, before and after which there is silence on the part of that person. About the sentence, it is a grammatically complete string of words expressing a complete thought. The last one is a proposition that is that part of the meaning of the utterance of a declarative sentence which descries some state of affairs. In unit three in this chapter, we have learnt about reference, sense, lexeme, denotation and connotation. First, reference is a relationship between parts of a language and things outside the language (in the world). Second, the sense of an expression is its place in a system of semantic relationships with other expressions in the language. Third, the lexeme is the name of the abstract unit which unites all the morphological variants of a single word. Fourth, connotation refers to the personal aspect of meaning, the emotional associations that the word arouses. The connotation of a word is the ideas or feelings associated with that word that are not part of its definition (include the emotions and ideas that people attach to them). Last, the denotation of a word is its dictionary definition. Since this is a very difficult subject, it requires intense concentration and has strategy to study well in the subject. We think that we need to read and prepare the lesson before going to class. Otherwise, we will find it difficult to understand to keep up with the lecture. As we know, semantics is the study of the meaning of words and sentences, therefore it is central to the study of communication, which in turn is an important factor in how society is organized. Its aim is to discover why meaning is more complex than simply the words in a sentence, explaining why the structure of a sentence is important to understand its meaning and what are the semantic relationships between words and sentences. Semantics studies the relationship between signs and the outside world, for example, red denoting 'stop’ or ‘danger’. We understand how language is learned through an understanding of semantics. Its study is closely related to language acquisition and critical to a language because without it, there would be no real structure to a language. Noam Chomsky (1957) argues that: "Colourless green ideas sleep furiously” to reveals the importance of meaning. Therefore, this is a very useful subject for Legal English students like us. In addition, its benefits are related to academic, professional and personal development.