Scientists believe that computers, not humans, will control cars in the near future. What are the reasons for that? Would this be a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, technologies become more popular. Many industries have started using them in various ways. As a result of technological advancements, some scientists believe car manufacturers will use computers to control cars in the future. Regardless of the scientists' belief, we should consider both advantages and disadvantages of the change. Technologies, for example, computers, are expected to be used to control cars instead of humans. Several pieces of research have been done to improve computers' accuracy and seem to be successful. As a result, computers can reduce the chances of car accidents. For example, a drunk man can travel home safely without the need to drive by himself because computers will do that for him. Moreover, driverless cars will provide opportunities for the disabled and the young to travel by themselves. These people will no longer have to wait for others to take them anywhere. They will have more freedom to travel. On the other hand, just like humans, computers can have some errors. Computers are indeed becoming more accurate; however, machines can sometimes go wrong. There is no guarantee that they will be one-hundred per cent precise. Therefore, human drivers will still be important in the future. No matter how smart technologies are, they cannot repair themselves. Humans, who are their creators, are the only ones who can repair them. Another drawback of using driverless cars is that they are still expensive to buy. Many people cannot afford to pay for these high-technology products because of their low income. Therefore, these inventions will be limited to a group of people with high salaries. To conclude, despite having many advantages, driverless cars still have some drawbacks. More research needed to be done to improve the inventions' qualities to ensure that they will be safe and affordable to use in the future.